Watch the “Live With Sensei” Interview

January 26, 2020

Yesterday’s live interview with Film Sensei Jay Haynes went great! The show was supposed to only go thirty minutes, but we kept receiving such great questions from the chatroom that we talked for over an hour.

We mainly discussed the writing arts and martial arts, with occasional name-drops of Keith Minnion, Richard Chizmar, and John Johnson, with deep dishing about Star Wars, Star Trek, Game of Thrones, Lord of the Rings, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer. The “Live With Sensei” audience was also treated to Jay wristlocking me live on camera! You don’t want to miss that, so watch the whole gory show below. I’m going to ensure I’m subscribed to his channel, because next week the subject will be a show-and-tell of “failed experiments.”

One thought on “Watch the “Live With Sensei” Interview

  1. Here are links to *most* of the books, movies, shows, people, and organizations we discussed. (I mangled a few of these while talking.) We covered a lot of territory!

    PEOPLE
    Richard Chizmar (author): https://richardchizmar.com/
    Arthur C. Clarke (author): https://www.amazon.com/Arthur-C-Clarke/e/B000APF21M/
    Leonard Garment (author): https://www.amazon.com/Leonard-Garment/e/B001H6S0T4
    Jay Haynes (sensei): http://jayhaynes.com/
    John Johnson (director): http://www.darkstone-ent.com/
    Stephen King (author): https://stephenking.com/
    Keith Minnion (author & artist): http://www.keithminnionstudio.com/ and https://www.amazon.com/Keith-Minnion/e/B00P5677IM
    Matthew Warner (author): https://matthewwarner.com/

    BOOKS
    “Buzz Your Book” by M.J. Rose & Douglas Clegg: https://www.publishersweekly.com/978-0-9664332-1-0
    “Cursed by Christ” by Matthew Warner: https://matthewwarner.com/works/cursed-by-christ/
    “Dominoes in Time” by Matthew Warner: https://matthewwarner.com/works/dominoes-in-time/
    “Empire of the Goddess” by Matthew Warner: https://matthewwarner.com/works/empire-of-the-goddess/
    “Lovecraft at Last” by Willis Conover & H.P. Lovecraft: https://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0815412126/qid%3D1032984127/
    “Save the Cat!” by Blake Snyder: https://www.amazon.com/Save-Last-Book-Screenwriting-Youll/dp/1932907009/
    “Screenplay” by Syd Field: https://www.amazon.com/Screenplay-Foundations-Screenwriting-Syd-Field/dp/0385339038/
    “The Hero with a Thousand Faces” by Joseph Campbell: https://www.amazon.com/Brilliance-Audio-Hero-Thousand-Faces/dp/B01BFBXOM8/
    “The Organ Donor” by Matthew Warner: https://matthewwarner.com/works/the-organ-donor/
    “The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People” by Stephen R. Covey: https://www.amazon.com/Habits-Highly-Effective-People-Powerful/dp/B0006IU4C0/
    “The Writer’s Lab” by Sexton Burke: https://www.amazon.com/Writers-Lab-Place-Experiment-Fiction/dp/1599637057/

    MARTIAL ARTS SCHOOLS
    Total Defense Martial Arts: https://totaldefensema.com/

    MOVIES
    “For the Love of Spock”: https://www.amazon.com/gp/video/detail/B01K6UPSE6/
    “Star Trek”: https://www.startrek.com/
    “Star Wars”: https://www.starwars.com/

    SONGS
    “Dust in the Wind” by Kansas: https://youtu.be/tH2w6Oxx0kQ

    TOURIST ATTRACTIONS
    American Shakespeare Center (Staunton, VA): https://americanshakespearecenter.com/

    TV & WEB SHOWS
    “Buffy the Vampire Slayer”: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0118276/
    “EnterTheDojoShow” (Master Ken): https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxrd1I7wmE2chwpoqD4DSTA
    “Game of Thrones”: http://gameofthrones.com/
    “How It Should Have Ended”: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCHCph-_jLba_9atyCZJPLQQ
    “Screen Junkies” (Honest Trailers): https://www.youtube.com/user/screenjunkies
    “The A-Team”: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0084967/
    “The Mandalorian”: https://www.disneyplus.com/welcome/the-mandalorian

    WRITERS ASSOCIATIONS
    Horror Writers Association: http://horror.org/
    Mystery Writers of America: https://mysterywriters.org/
    Romance Writers of America: https://www.rwa.org/